Guards Club Park and Island

Guards Club Guards Club Island showing Brunel's Sounding ArchGuards Club general view from Maidenhead Bridge

Size: 11,115 sq m/ 1.1 hectares.
A walk around the perimeter of this park will contribute 700 steps to the advised 10,000 daily steps recommended to improve fitness.

Location & Access:

Access from Oldfield Road

Bing.com link showing location of Guards Club Road.

Facilities:

History:

The Guards Club provided recreation for officers from the depots at Windsor and Pirbright. Plaques record its replacement by the park for the Silver Jubilee of 1977. The gates which lead into Guards Club Road came from Maidenhead's first public library opened in 1904.

Guards Club Park and Island is an open space and conservation area with unique views of Brunel's Sounding Arch and Maidenhead Bridge.

The Island, accessed via a footbridge from the park, is closed each year between December and June, however the Park remains open all year round.


How do you rate this information/service?
Help - What does this mean? |
Find us on: 
RBWM on Facebook RBWM on Twitter RBWM on YouTube
Polish Punjabi Urdu
Modified: 2013-12-31
Published: Thu, 27 Feb 2014 00:49:42
Author: Jan Balfour
Editor: Jan.Balfour
LGSL PID: 461
RDCMS ID: 5987